About Vanity…


Inspired by michaela I want to share with you my point of view on vanity, which is actually not bad at all 😉

Let’s start with the question “Am I a vain person?”. I must say yes, but well- not like that:

or that:

but very much like someone, who wants to be liked by others. And that’s really pretty everyone, to be liked and accepted is one essential human need.  In Wikipedia you’ll find, that “vanity is the excessive belief in one’s own abilities or attractiveness to others”- I think that wanting to be attractive to others, but not necessary or not only in a physical and excessive way is one really good quality or goal.

Is is important to follow your ideal-self and just to try to improve the things, that YOU don’t like, not the things, that the others don’t like. Because it’s good to want others to like you, but only for what you are, not for what you aren’t but you think, that others want you to be.

Having your own personality and being liked for it- thumbs up!

Not having a personality and adjusting you to the wishes of others- thumbs down!

That’s from me, what do you think?

ps. clothes are just one way to express your personality, so I don’t think I should give more attention to the issue 😉

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “About Vanity…”

  1. oziris1 Says:

    Well, I personally have nothing against vanity. I don’t think it’s a good trait, but I don’t think it’s so bad either. I personally think of myself as a vanity-free character, because I very rarely look myself in the mirror, I don’t make any hairstyles, I don’t wear very extravagant clothes and so on.
    But I agree with you – vanity can be a source of good things, if you focus on correcting the things YOU DON”T LIKE about yourself.

  2. copingkoala Says:

    I’m glad that you think so too 😉

    looking in the mirror is nor vanity- it’s just wanting to look really good for some reason 😉

  3. oziris1 Says:

    Well, in my case, I need to have someone in my life for whom to look good. Right now, I don’t, so hairstyles, clothes and looking in the mirror seem redundant to me.

  4. oziris1 Says:

    Yeah, I should, but practically, I don’t. I have to impress somebody, that’s the only reason why I would make hairstyles and wear fancy clothes. That has always been my problem, I wouldn’t do it just for me. I have to learn to like myself for who I am, but that’s difficult, as you would agree. Anyway, we are diverting from the subject… 🙂

    • copingkoala Says:

      We are diverting from the subject, but i want to say, that looking good doesn’t mean to use hairstyle-products und wear fancy clothes- it means to look the way you look and feel good about it 😉

  5. oziris1 Says:

    doesn’t mean – when you use doesn’t, the verb is without the ‘s’.

    well, most of the modern dudes make hairstyles and wear fancy clothes and that’s why I said it. However, I agree with you that good looks doesn’t mean you have to change something about your appearance, it simply means to accept yourself and to have minimum hygiene, for example to clip your fingernails, to use deodorant, to wash yourself at least two times a week, and so on. I do all that and I think that’s enough, but I don’t feel good-looking… Anyway, the topic is endless, so I suggest we stop here. 🙂

  6. copingkoala Says:

    ok 🙂 Thanks for the “doesn’t” 😉

  7. oziris1 Says:

    no problem 😉

Leave a Reply

