Faith ?


Shortly I was told, that I’m naive and childish and that I need to grow up.

Why?

Because I’ve said that I believe in the good in people, also that people can change, that they can love each other, despite mistakes or differences, and that no one needs to hate someone, because hate is not a natural component of peoples relationships.

Well, I don’t know if that makes me naive, but I don’t mind if it does. What bothers me is that those “realistic” people think, that they’re better than me, because they’ve got life figured out and are very wise, because they know “how people really are”.

I think that they’ve just given up. Giving up is always the easier choice, that’s why the “realistic” people are the majority in our society now. What makes you a grown-up is when you’ve been disappointed often enough to stop trying and believing. Then you know that people are not good at all, otherwise they wouldn’t be doing all that bad stuff that’s happening to you and all around the world. I think that all that bad stuff happens, because the world is full with “rational” people, who think that people aren’t good and they shouldn’t be the stupid ones and be good and so the circle begins…

It’s hard to believe if you don’t get evidence for your faith. It’s just not rational. It’s what children do. We protect our children from the bad things in the world to keep their faith as long as possible. But we know- someday they’ll see and they’ll grow up. Otherwise they’ll be used over and over again, they’ll be hurt.

The only way not to get hurt is to lock your heart and to hurt others before they hurt you.

I don’t consider such life as worth living. That’s stupid, not faith. Faith gives sense to our lives. It doesn’t matter what you believe in, the only thing that matters is that you’re not death inside. And without faith you are.

What are you?

Share

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Faith ?”

  1. y22z6lo7hhl2ct7b Says:

    Just tell me who this idiot is, and I am going to break my guitar in to his head.

  2. Charly CONCHITA Carlyle Says:

    Nicely expressed…I enjoyed how you captured the “faith” of the child…which is different from hope…you accept that there is bad…and yet LOOK/SEARCH/FIND the good rather than simply “wishing” for it…like a child? Perhaps, but beatiful none the less, xxx dr.c.

    • teo Says:

      Thanks 🙂

      Exactly that’s the point- the faith must be there in the first place, otherwise you can always find some other reasons for good deeds and make them bad. I’m not religious, but it’s like with God- if you don’t believe in him, there are always arguments that undermine his existence.

      Once you’ve given up it’s hard to get you back on board.

  3. helen Says:

    And this one is very good. I liked it the first time I read it. But I got distracted and did not comment. Very well written also.

Leave a Reply

