About… Temptation! (1) Desire


I’ve always loved that quote by Oscar Wilde: “I can resist everything except temptation”

It’s just true, at least for me, or at least in the way that I comprehend it. For me it’s really simple: Why should I resist a temptation? Is temptation bad? Is it wrong? Should I fight temptation? Am I bad person if I don’t resist it? Am I a good person if I do resist it? Don’t know and NO, no, no, no, no, NO!

Wikipedia says: “A temptation is an act that looks appealing to an individual.” I agree till here, you can read the rest here. If you’re temp by something criminal or bad, that’s your problem, but that shouldn’t make a temptation in general a bad thing, because it isn’t.

Temptation is desire. For me. If I desire something, why shouldn’t I go for it? (I’m thinking that given my conviction that I’m a good person and I don’t desire things harmful to others or something like that)

The point of that quote for me is that temptation is just not that often and if you get a temptation offered, of course you can not resist it, because you simply don’t want to. Actually all you want to is a temptation, all you’re looking for is a temptation. A temptation should be something challenging, something that’ll make you do your best in order to get it, that’ll push you to the limit and that will reward you with everything you ever wanted… Something that is offered to you on a silver platter can never be a temptation, it’s a product that you’re free to consume.

So – can you resist a temptation?

PS. (1) because I’m sure that the topic will be continued. Temptation 2 + 3, Curiosity and Revenge are coming up, I’m open for other suggestions – what do you think is also an temptation?

Share

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “About… Temptation! (1) Desire”

  1. Svetlina Says:

    I guess uncle Oscar was referring to his inability to resist to anything 🙂 This is what males are.

  2. oziris1 Says:

    I totally disagree with you. Temptation can be bad. Even for you. For example, I have often been tempted to jump off the window. Should I give way to that temptation? Will it be good for me to die, or go to a hospital?
    And I have had many strange temptations in my life, including murders, or irrational behavior. And I don’t consider myself a bad person. It is true that these temptations are weak and they are not so hard to resist. Well, I’ve had other temptations – for example, to kiss some girl I like. But would that help me win her over – I don’t think so. Although my relationships with women could use some spontaneity… Anyway, I have had temptations to hit someone I don’t like, or who irritates me. Just think what would happen if you start randomly hitting the people you don’t like, or just tell them what you really think of them… that would be a disaster. Or for example, if you are on a diet. Or not, even worse, if you are diabetic and you start craving for a chocolate – that can kill you.
    So… is temptation that good?

    • teo Says:

      First – I didn’t say that temptation CAN not be bad, just that it’s not automatically a bad thing in general.

      Second – I’ve said that I’m talking about temptations that do no include hurting other or so, that should mean not hurting yourself too.

      Third – yes, I think that temptation in the meaning I’ve described above is that good, because it gives you the drive to do your best at whatever you need to do your best at.

      As for your examples – the ones that include hurting others or yourself are bad and you should absolutely not do them. The one with the girl is a good one and it’s kind of what I’m talking of – if you’re really temp to that girl, you’ll probably do your best at getting her to like you before kissing her. If you just want to kiss her, you can always steel a kiss and consume it like crappy fast food, that would not be a temptation, but a consumer drive for a nice product.

  3. Svetlina Says:

    Hey Oziris, don`t get me wrong but the only way to find the answers that u r looking for is to give up and follow ur temptations (even if they include windows).
    My own belief is that everything will be alright in the end and if it`s not alright, it`s not the end 🙂

  4. oziris1 Says:

    Well, I disagree. I don’t mean that we should ignore our temptations, I don’t do that. But we have to think them over and decide whether to follow them or not.
    For example, if you are a diabetic you wouldn’t eat ten bars of chocolate then jump off the window in the exact time to land on a person you don’t like… right? 😀 😀 I mean what good is that for anybody?

    And I am currently not looking for any answers. I know all I need to know for now.

  5. oziris1 Says:

    And now a response to teo:

    Well, you are just not giving any examples, you’re speaking too generally and I don’t exactly get what you mean. Give examples of temptations that you have given way and we will consider it.

    • teo Says:

      I can’t really give you an example of an temptation that I have, because I don’t have one. That’s the point, I want to have that kind of temptation, but that’s not that common so you don’t get tempted in that way so often and if you do, you should go for it.

      As said, your example with the girl kind of does make my point: “if you’re really temp to that girl, you’ll probably do your best at getting her to like you before kissing her. If you just want to kiss her, you can always steel a kiss and consume it like crappy fast food, that would not be a temptation, but a consumer drive for a nice product.”

  6. Svetlina Says:

    For example, if you are a diabetic you wouldn’t eat ten bars of chocolate then jump off the window in the exact time to land on a person you don’t like… right? 😀 😀 I mean what good is that for anybody?

    The good is that this person will have a dream came true + the world will get rid of someone that is tempted to kill and hit 🙂
    Okay, if i have to be serious… there`s nothing bad in death or in the pleasure of eating (chocolate (any banned food)). If you have the urge to jump out of the window but u dont see the good/pleasure of it, it`s not any strong will (temptation), it`s just a moment.

Leave a Reply

