Just Hope For The Best or Worst Case Scenario ?


No matter what kind of problem comes up in my life, I always try to have a plan for the “worst case scenario” in mind. For everything. If I don’t have it, I’m just unsettled.

So if someone else, that I kind of care about, has a (big) problem, what do I do? I come up with (in my opinion) the best way of coping with the worst case scenario, so that even the worst case doesn’t seem so bad and unmanageable. After that I feel free to think of everything else, to hope for the best, there’s no fear of the “But what if it isn’t going to be alright?” anymore. Now I have an answer to that question and a better one than “It will be, you’ll see.” And what did I hear in the last situations like that?

“Do you have to be so negative, can’t you just say, that it’s gonna be alright and that I should hope for the best? By just thinking about the worst case you’re jinxing it and you making it more likely to happen (here I guess that someone has been reading “The Wish Granting Tree” again). I thought, you’re gonna be a psychologist…”

“I feel that by saying “it’s gonna be alright” I’m saying nothing, but by giving you a good strategy for “bad days”, I’m helping you. I’m making a trap for the big monster (the worst that can happen) that frightens you, makes you think full of fear, irrational and not acting optimal. And I though I was your friend and not your therapist. Besides a therapist is not a person, who hugs you, when you cry and says “it’s gonna be alright”.”

“Eh, North Bulgarians…”

???

What do you do – hope for the best or thinking the worst case scenario over?

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Just Hope For The Best or Worst Case Scenario ?”

  1. Bain Says:

    That is always a good tactic, I mean, thinking for the worst scenario, unless you are at my place – usually, nothing EVER goes as planned, so I try not to imagine the worst scenario before doing something, because most likely if it goes bad, it will turn out even worse.

    The best tactic for normal people is both. “A good warrior prepares for the worst… And hopes for the best.” You must have heard that line.

    • teo Says:

      For me it’s not about knowing what to do, WHEN it happens (e.g. in the rare cases, that the worst has happened to me, I’ve handled different than my best strategy), but about not having the fear, that If it happens, you’re done, because you don’t know how to handle it. That fear is bothering to me, because I can’t handle optimal while having it, I don’t feel free.

      “because most likely if it goes bad, it will turn out even worse.” – O yeah, so smile today, birthday boy, because tomorrow will be worse than today for sure πŸ™‚

  2. helen Says:

    Well, they are right to say that to you. Because what you describe is your way to handle your fear of uncertainty. To know that you are covered even if things turned out wrong. But your friends may not need the same thing in this very moment when they are sharing with you their very new and still fragile plans. In this very moment they need reassurance. They need to hear from you that their idea sounds reasonable and that it holds a pretty good chance to work out in the end. They are scared themselves to take action and that’s why they need some backing up.
    My personal way of dealing with that kind of situations is to think it up clearly in the beginning to make it to the best of my knowledge and to expect, to count that it would work out well in the end. Also to know, to have self -assurance that if it turns out wrong on any step of the project I could always count on my abilitites / capabilities/ resources that have served me well in the past and to face the new situation as it is and find a solution. But, hey, that works for me – I am not saying that you should do the same.

    • teo Says:

      10x for sharing Helen. I’m not asking what to do, but what do you do, just for the fun of asking πŸ˜‰ I’m glad that you have a way, that works for me, my way works for me ok till now πŸ™‚
      I completely support your first paragraph. In the situation above we had different views about how fragile the plans are, I’ve thought that enough time has passed, but he obviously didn’t… I never mind it in the way, that it should work for him, but just in explaining why did I say so and that it’s not out of negativism πŸ™‚

  3. Charly CONCHITA Carlyle Says:

    hmmmnnn to be honest I’m not sure it matter much whether you think of “the best” or “the worst”…more important to be curious as to the WHY you chose one over the other…always nice to see a hint at our elusive personalities…ha!…i suppose i always consider the worst because i find that expecting the best is simply anti-climactic in the end…and now THAT tells quite a bit about me! such a simple question whose answer is as personal as it is complex and individual…thank you for making me…think…and even more importantly feel! xxx c

    • teo Says:

      Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚
      For me the “why” is implied in every questions , 10x for pointing out the importance of it πŸ™‚ And yeah, it tells a lot about a person, the “why” can be quite interesting even applied to apparently simple things, e.g. “Why is my favorite color orange?” can have really interesting answer πŸ˜‰

  4. jana Says:

    Thinking of the worst case scenario? Not me. I like to take it one step further. I’m like the piggy from this story:

    Little piggy knew her friend hedgehog had a nice sled. She wanted to borrow it. On her way to hedgehog’s house, piggy thought of all the reasons why hedgehog might say “No.” She got so caught up in her negative thoughts that when rang the bell and the hedgehog opened the door, the little piggy yelled angrily, “You know what? You can shove that sled up your a**!” and she walked away.

    I have no idea where that story came from, whether it was a joke or butchered folk tale, but I’ve been known as The Angry Piggy to my family and friends since early childhood.

    The funniest side effect of being The Angry Piggy? I’ll spend days, even weeks leading to an event in anger and fear – and then everything usually turns out just fine. D’Oh!

    • teo Says:

      hahaha, your story really made me laugh at loud πŸ™‚
      Have fun while being the Angry Piggy πŸ™‚ You can also take a rest for a change from time to time, so that everyone is surprised by you, that’s fun too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

