What about photo editing?


Since I’ve got my first very own camera I really enjoy taking pictures with it, but I’m not a fan of photo editing for two reasons: 1. I don’t really know how to do it and I’m not really motivated to learn it because 2. I believe that you either have a good picture or not, photo editing has a cheating-flair for me.

Since Ashwin began to publish some of his amazing photos (e.g. this one:

) and we talked a little about photography we came to the conclusion, that with photo editing you can make a good photo to a great one while a bad photo is always a bad photo. So let’s see, since I can’t really do editing, Ashwin edited several pictures from my vacation.

Here is the original picture of one special place in Sozopol:

And here is it again edited by Ashwin:

Here is a view to theΒ home-villageΒ of my father (Lyublen):

Here is the edited version:

A spider’s web on my grandmother’s house:

The edited version:

A 100 years old tree (that was so big that it couldn’t fit in my small camera):

The edited version:

So what do you think?

Tags: , , ,

17 Responses to “What about photo editing?”

  1. Diana Says:

    I think you can do lots of things with editing.
    For example you can make a black-white-photo and coloring a part of the picture. I love to do this. I think it’s another way of art.
    Or pictures, where you can delete spots for example on a t-shirt. You can concentrate on the important parts of the photo.
    Sometimes I forgot to turn the screen of my Canon. Now I have edges with black shadows. It isn’t nice, when you see this on the finishes photo. So you can editing it and you’re happy the photo is as nice as you imagin when you took it.
    I have a polarizing screen for my Camera too, to make the heaven more blue and reduce reflection. This would be cheating, too, but the photo become more real.
    So if you don’t edit the picture as much as here http://www.chip.de/bildergalerie/Die-groessten-Photoshop-Desaster-Galerie_34947407.html
    it’t ok I think.

    • teo Says:

      I agree, a proper amount and well done editing is a really good thing, but I simply still can’t do stuff like that, so I’ll not do it a lot till I learn to do it right.

      If you can ” color a part of the picture, delete spots on a t-shirt” etc. – do them, it sounds really good πŸ™‚

      And I know that you have a nice camera, it’s a petty that you don’t publish more photos like that one: https://copingkoala.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/best-fireworks-ever/

  2. rontuaru Says:

    I think it’s important to try to take good quality pictures straight out of the camera. After all, that’s how you learn to tweak your settings and variables to help you achieve better results. That said, those who earn a living with photography probably have to embrace any edge they can get in this very competitive business, and they probably view editing programs as a necessary tool of the trade. The evolution of the digital world has introduced millions of people to photography who never would have picked up a camera for anything more than the annual holiday family portrait. So in terms of making a living or getting recognition for your work, there is a lot more competition out there than there used to be. As an amateur photographer I view editing programs as a creative tool. (No, I don’t own a major editing program …. yet! Just the software that came with my camera, which I seldom use.) Yes, editing programs can help me “fix” a photo if I’m not satisfied with the quality of the composition, but they also let me “play” with the creative side of any photo I’ve taken. I compare it to owning a high end embroidery sewing machine …. do I have to embellish every garment I make? No, but it’s really nice to have the option to be more creative if I want! Anyway, good luck with your new camera and keep taking pictures!

    • teo Says:

      You’re right, I have nothing against it and I really understand the situation, I was simply talking about editing my own pictures, who has no commercial or even artistic ambitions.

      Editing is really your main tool in making photography to an artistic expression and I admire what people can do with it (that was actually also the point of the post) πŸ™‚ Good luck to you too!

  3. jana Says:

    Photography has always been “a moment frozen in time” to me – a real moment, one I – or anybody else – experienced, and wanted to remember. What good is it to alter that wonderful moment once the picture was taken? Would I ever consider changing my memories? No. In order to capture those images to the best of my abilities, knowing how to take a good picture is vital. It’s pretending that no editing software exists.

    That being said, I do own, and am pretty good at using the said software. I completely agree with your friend – it can make a good picture great, while a bad one will remain bad no matter what you do to it.

    It is my impression that your are only learning to work with photo editors. It’s not a secret that they can be extremely pricey. If this in any way concerns you, and would like to explore your options on something that is free – yet pretty compatible to commercially available programs, you can have a look at and download GIMP from http://www.gimp.org

    • jana Says:

      Sorry, the link doesn’t seem to be directing where it should – it is correct, though.

    • teo Says:

      Thank you, Jana πŸ™‚ I know gimp, I had it or I still have, I just never come to investing enough time in playing around with programs like this so that I can do good photo editing.

      A good photo editing shouldn’t be about changing a memory, but making it more vital. I’m glad that you can do that and that you’re feeling so comfortable in the new home, that you are already making nice bobbin pillows πŸ˜‰

  4. Svetlina Says:

    Depends if you want to take photoes or you want to make pictures. One is reality, one is art.
    Though from the examples above I like the last picture the best πŸ™‚

    • teo Says:

      10x πŸ™‚ Finally someone likes it! πŸ˜‰

      And yes, if you want to make artistic pictures you need photo editing, but I’m not up to that, at least not at this point πŸ™‚ A well done editing can also make a picture simply better and still realistic, like the one from the village I think.

  5. The Lazy Photographer Says:

    Nice photos and nice editing work. In my opinion, photography is about capturing an image or a moment in time, but editing — particularly dramatic editing beyond the basic contrast and brightness — can transform a photo into a work of art. Most avid photographers are artists to begin with and therefore enjoy the process of creating. If it was only about simply snapping the shutter and nothing more, I personally don’t think I’d enjoy it nearly as much. I often will take a photo based on what I can see it becoming in post processing, you know, like with the thought of “oh boy this will look great after I do this and this to it. Is that what photography’s supposed to be about? I don’t know. The old school film guys will argue that one must be a purist to create great photography. This is like your grampa arguing that when he was a kid he had to walk five miles to school and back in the dead of winter up hill both ways and if he wanted to learn something he had to open a goddam book, for crying out loud. “We didn’t have the interwebby thing when I was a kid!” he’ll argue. But what does that mean? Like, why stop there. 25,000 years ago if you wanted to make a shopping list you had to chip it into the side of a cave, right? Here in the real world we have digital cameras and digital darkrooms. Things change. Embrace the change, gramps, is what I’d tell him. πŸ™‚ I think I’m getting off on a tangent, aren’t I? Oh yeah, well when my gramps was a kid they didn’t even have tangents, for crying out loud… But I digress. πŸ™‚

    • teo Says:

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ 10x, you made me laugh πŸ™‚

      I see what you mean and I agree, that’s why I’ve said that I really just have a lot to learn, we’ll see if I do and what would it look like then πŸ˜‰

  6. Charly CONCHITA Carlyle Says:

    You know, as someone who works a lot with photographic images for my work…and yet I am an amateur myself, I see within your comments the long drawn out debate: is it better to “catch the moment” without editing OR “edit the photo” to capture the feel of the moment…which is more artistic? which is more true to the form/media? BOTH…I feel…I will say one thing with positivity…as someone who is inexperienced…the ability to edit increases the value of the photo, to me…perhaps then it is simply about perspective…where we are “coming from” and our “needs”…just like everything else in life huh? The image s as we see it, not necessarily as it REALLY is…happy “snapping” xxx c

    • teo Says:

      Yep, like Diana’ve said too πŸ™‚ As long as you don’t change reality just for the fun of making unrealistic non artistic worlds, you can create beautiful art via editing or simply bringing you idea and emotion of the photo to better expression… But as you – I’m a complete amateur myself πŸ˜‰

      Have fun with the photographers, I’m sure that they really enjoy working with you – it’s almost nothing to correct in your photos πŸ˜‰

  7. anna.ua Says:

    no offense to your friend… but maybe every other edited pic looks worse actually because of the way it was edited?.. no, really.

    i don’t like photo editing, but i’ve learned that it’s often necessary. e.g. to level out the line of the horizon and such.

    good luck with photography!

    • teo Says:

      I don’t know about if edited pictures look worse or not, they simply look different and some like it, some not,,, 10x with the luck, you too and hope to see you again here sometime πŸ™‚

  8. Let’s start the photo-editing! « little coping koala Says:

    […] As you may remember I’m a friend of photo-editing, or at least I wasn’t. But as Ashwin has already show me and as I could discover myself thanks to this photo, photo-editing may not be a […]

  9. Do we need to make nature more beautiful? | little coping koala Says:

    […] I was skeptic at first about photo editing, I got really excited about all the cool things one can do with a few clicks. […]

Leave a Reply

