Random Impressions


Lately I wanted to write so many posts but I never come to doing it, so here I’ll trow some random impressions from the trips lately (Bulgaria 2010, Bremen, the Congress):

Bulgaria 2010:

This year for the first time I wasn’t saying to myself “vacation in Bulgaria – never again!” It was really nice, I don’t know why I wasn’t bothered by the things that do usually bother me in Bulgaria, they were still there, just didn’t bother me, it was very nice 🙂

Something that left a really good impression in me was, that I didn’t see a single beggar, it was full with street-musicians or street-artist, but no people, who simply ask for money, this was simply amazing (maybe I was just somehow extremely lucky).

Things about Bulgarians, that never accrued to me, but made a great impression to my German friend and are actually true:

1. Bulgarians eat a lot (by a lot she means a breakfast and 2 warm meals, according to her and other German friends 2 warm meals a day are really unusual, if you’re not living with your mother, who’s cooking for you, most of them say that they barely eat one warm meal a day… odd).

2. The food in Bulgaria is being served lukewarm/cold (and that’s also actually true, simply because the food in German restaurants is being served hot, which makes no sense, because you have to wait till it cools off, but anyway, never really thought about it, but I definitely like my food with a temperature that allows me to eat it without burning my tongue, like it is in Bulgaria).

You can really talk with everyone in Bulgaria, everybody looks like he’s in a hurry, but when you e.g.  ask for directions, you could talk the whole day etc. Really nice and refreshing 🙂

Almost every German store has a branch in Bulgaria too, I really don’t like that, and everything costs a little bit more.

Bremen (where the congress was):

Nice city, even very nice, it looks bigger than expected, it’s a real old city, not a bunch of adjusted villages like Bielefeld

What’s up with the kiosks, Bremen? On and around the central station they sell only cigarettes and there is only one ❗ where you can buy a KitKat for 1,19€, which is 0,40€ more than usual, crazy…

Windy, windy, windy … Hamburg is supposed to be even more windy, I’m um… excited about it?

The people in Bremen are nice, and they say “Moin Moin” too.

Nobody knew where an ATM of the “German Bank” is, what’s up with that? To everyone who wants to live in Germany – don’t open an account in the “German Bank”, they have very few ATM’s and are slow (on the other hand that helps you with saving money, since it’s relative difficult to access them).

The Congress:

You can talk with everyone, even as a student, amazing atmosphere. Being able to talk to really important people with amazing achievements, that I never really perceived as real, but simply as some names under article titles, to see you as a colleague ❗ wow, I’m still amazed.

Of course, once the person against you knows that this is not your dissertation, but your BSc-thesis, they get that look that says “Ow, you really can’t do nothing for me” but still remain friendly and interested, because they never know who will you be in a couple of years.

People thinking, that your little BSc-thesis can be a big and important dissertation is really a great feeling. I also received only good responses to my work, that’s really flattering, a well-known Prof., editor of important journals, telling you that your work is good and that you should keep going is simply, well, amazing 🙂

My English is not that good, not that good at all. First I was really glad that I can understand everything, I hardly made difference between German and English, but I really have to work on talking, although no one made a comment or something, everybody understood me, I noticed that I just can’t talk as fast and correct as I would like to in English.

In Psychology there’s a huge gap between researchers and practitioners, I really don’t like that and it will change.

If I sensed some jealousy, it was only from my former female teachers. Weird and maybe a good research topic for the future…

Conclusion: congress = huge ego-booster (I really can use it now)

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Random Impressions”

  1. godlesspaladin Says:

    Congrats! It is always a great feeling to have people enjoy your work at conferences. (I got the same reaction with my BA History thesis when going around to conferences) (Love the koala name tag) ^_^

    That’s really interesting about the food. 2 hot meals a day is a lot? Though Americans do eat a lot…. I heard somewhere (I’ll try and find the study) that the French actually spend the most time at the dinner table eating, yet they’re in a lot better shape than Americans. Not fair >.<)

    Most restaurants in the states serve food fairly hot, though only soups are so hot that you sometimes have to wait. How do they serve coffee in Bulgaria? Does it come in little sipping cups? When I was in the UK a friend of mine, who was Czech, was telling me about a coffee class he took in Vienna, and how the English serve coffee all wrong. (I think the Americans serve it all wrong by the same standard) We serve it weak and in large cups.

  2. teo Says:

    Glad that you did a great job with your BA-thesis too 🙂

    I really didn’t think of 2 hot meals a day as a lot too, but apparently a lot of Germans are surviving just with sandwiches and sweets. I can imagine that time spending eating isn’t equal to the quantity you eat, e.g. I eat very slowly, but I consider that rather good.

    I don’t drink coffee, so I don’t know a lot about how they serve it, but I definitely know, that it’s a lot stronger than in Germany and that “a normal coffee” in Bulgaria is more like an “espresso” in Germany, although Starbucks is very popular and the American coffee mugs become more popular too… I’m just waiting for the coffee-drinking-mania to die, it’s gonna be sooner than most people think I think 😉

  3. godlesspaladin Says:

    Haha, yeah, perhaps. I was just curious, I find food customs really interesting. I’m more of a tea person than a coffee person. Here in the American south if you ask for tea, most people assume you mean iced sweet tea, which I also enjoy, but to ask for it unsweetened is like a sin. Only northern yankees drink unsweet tea and they hate them around here. :p

    • teo Says:

      When you talk about south Americans it’s like a whole new species to me…

      Food customs:

      In Bulgaria it’s usual to have food on a party, not finger food, not chips & salsa, but food, mostly a plate of cold meats and salad or something.

      In Germany you have to bring something to a party, e.g. a bag of chips or bottle of wine, that’s unthinkable in Bulgara (at least as far as I know, it tends to change lately I think).

      In Bulgaria you have to go outside or to the bathroom in order to blow your nose strong & loudly, In Germany blowing your nose really strong is something normal that can happen everytime & everywhere. To snuffle is being seen as inappropriate and unpleasant in Germany, but in Bulgaria snuffling is way more acceptable than blowing your nose at the table.

      If I think of more I’ll tell you 🙂

  4. godlesspaladin Says:

    Cool, good to know in case I ever visit Bulgaria (which I hope to at some point) And yes, southern Americans are like a whole new species :p (Even though I was born in Texas, I grew up in a very metropolitan part of Virginia, so I don’t count myself as one, despite currently living in the deep south) As for the food at parties, here it depends. If it is a party to celebrate something specific, like a wedding, promotion, or birthday, then usually the guests do not bring food. For a more relaxed party, say a group of friends getting together to have fun or engage in some activity, then it is polite to bring a dish to share. (Sometimes called “pot luck”)

    It’s a strange little phrase also able to be used in response to “what’s for dinner”: Basically whatever meals are left over from previous dinners, so it’s up to your luck to see what pot you get. <.< I don't really understand why we use it to refer to bringing food to parties since the food you bring is not supposed to be leftover dinners…. Ok, sorry for the etymology rant, you probably knew the term "pot luck" already :p

Leave a Reply

