What’s wrong with the world summarized in a card game


Yesterday I’ve played a card game, which got me really angry: Thirty-One. Hear me out here, I’m not that crazy or drunk (or am I? πŸ™‚ ):

I’ll not explain you the rules, but just that part that got me angry. The highest score you can get is 31, but your goal shouldn’t be to get 31 -> to win the round, but not to lose and a lot more to make others lose before yourself. At the start everybody has 3 lives and at the end the winner is the only survivor, you can’t win any point or lives – you can only lose. So basically it’s like Β “don’t try to grow, but cut off the heads of everybody that’s taller than you and you’ll look taller yourself”.

This destructive way of thinking makes me angry – that’s how dictators stay in power, how people are kept small and sheep-like, how we’ve got where we are now… Promoting this way of thinking through card and other games is just wrong.

So why did I played it? Of course that I’ve tried to “break the system” and of course – I’ve lost πŸ™‚

PS. that’s again one of those no-point-posts, missed them, ha? πŸ˜‰

Tags:

3 Responses to “What’s wrong with the world summarized in a card game”

  1. greengeekgirl Says:

    I love your way of thinking about things–of seeing the larger implications of even small occurrences, like how we “battle” playing cards. πŸ™‚

    • teo Says:

      πŸ˜€ so glad that you love it, a lot of people find it simply unnecessariy complicating everything (which I can’t really deny…)

  2. the biggest, the greatest – The Best! « little coping koala Says:

    […] the point of that no-point-post, that you’ve missed so much lately , Β is that the good feeling of living anywhere doesn’t really come from what the place is […]

Leave a Reply

