Time flyies when you still have a lot to do


Lately I often think and hear stuff like “time gows by so quickly”. Then I wonder how come this wasn’t so when we were children. I’ve never heard someone saying “man, time goes by so quickly, all the sudden I’m 5”. I think that this has a simple logical explanation. Adults have so many plans, so many goals and wishes like ‘I want to be married before 30’ etc. Then all the sudden one is 30 but still not married. Then it’s easier to say “time passes by so quickly” than “man, I’m already 30 and I still haven’t done …/ am not …”.

Kids don’t really have this problem, because they don’t plan so far in the future and are more flexible in their plans. If Santa Claus doesn’t bring the yellow bagger, the red car is still fun enough…

When older people are satisfied with what they’ve done so far in their lifes, they are as relaxed about time as children. My gradma often says something like “I’ve lived mylife, have done this and this, that’s good enough, I don’t fear death” and that’s really cool.

But for the “middle age” maybe it’s not bad to have this inner dissatisfaction. We want to do a lot and time passes by quickly, so it’s kind of good that e.g. around new year we make a mental checklist of our goals and wishes and mostly see, that there is still a lot to do. We simply need this pressure to get it done, so that we can be satisfied with us when we are old, like my grandma…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

